a butterfly resting on a purple flower

People: Staff and Board

Our Staff | Our Board | Employment

Our Staff

Our staff members are passionate about the natural world. They're caring and talented educators, hard working, dedicated professionals, and experts in how wild things live, grow, adapt, and survive.

Ariel Heldt - Educator
Batsheva Glatt - Educator
Brea HaywoodFront Office Manager
Cathy Dyer
- Educator
David Clipner -Wildlife & School Programs Director
Etta Heisler - Camp & Public Programs Director
Jennifer Noel - Scout Programs Coordinator, Unity in Learning Partnership
Karen Rendell - Operations Director
Kim MesserEducator
Lannis Smith - Wildlife Manager
Lisa Usselman - Educator
MacKenzie Maxwell - School Programs Manager
Sam Wilson - Educator 
Susan Westhoff - Executive Director
Zach Wood - Camp Programs Manager

Trustees of the Ann Arbor Hands-On Museum and Leslie Science & Nature Center

Leslie Science & Nature Center is governed by our united Ann Arbor Hands-On Board of Directors, who provide oversight and work in partnership with staff to achieve our mission.

David Esau, Chair  Architect, Cornerstone Design, Inc.
Michael Cole, Vice Chair Technology Industry Group President, Bank of Ann Arbor
Becca Nielsen, 2nd Vice Chair Owner & Consultant, Nielsen Ed Consulting; Program Director, SEMIS
Cynthia L. Gardner, Treasurer Senior Vice President/Regional Manager, PNC Bank
Laura Wonch, Secretary Deli Manager, Zingerman’s Delicatessen
Mel Drumm, President Ann Arbor Hands-On Museum and Leslie Science & Nature Center
William Gosling, Member at Large University Librarian, Emeritus, University of Michigan
Chris Imwalle, Member at Large Manager, Amcor Rigid Plastics
Anne Marsan, Member at Large Senior Software Architect, CareEvolution Inc.
Ryan Noel, Member at Large Division Administrator – Metabolism, Endocrinology & Diabetes, University of Michigan
Don Burke Principal, Rehmann
Brett Chouinard CEO, Altair Engineering
Lyle F. Dahlberg First Vice President, Bank of Ann Arbor
Donna Doleman Senior Vice President, Operations and Communications, Ann Arbor SPARK
Laura Florence Curriculum Coach, Great Lakes and STEM Education
Anthony J. Frasca Senior Attorney, Dykema Gossett PLLC
Anne Glendon Community Leader
Kristina Glusac Project Manager, Smith Group JJR
Alan Jackson Radiation Safety Officer, Henry Ford Health System
Kris Korvun Senior Vice President, CORE Partners
Rohan Kheterpal Student, Skyline High School
Wendy Lawrence Freelance Writer
Andrew Lund Chief Engineer, Toyota Motor Engineering & Mfg NA Inc.
Tom McKarns President, ECO PHYSICS, INC
Timothy McKay Professor of Physics and Astronomy, University of Michigan
Allison Pinto Student, Greenhills School
David Rock CEO/President, NovoDynamics, Inc.
Allen Samuels Professor and Dean of Art & Design, Emeritus, University of Michigan
James R. Scapa CEO, Chairman, Founder, Altair
Richard Sheridan CEO, Chief Storyteller, Menlo Innovations LLC
Ron Sniderman Director of Innovation & Programming, Community Telecommunications Network
Evan Ufer Partner, Plymouth Ventures
Mahya G. S. Wood Toxicologist, NSF International
Karl L. Zinn Research Scientist Emeritus, Information Technology, University of Michigan

Work with us!

Please find any open positions listed below. We encourage you to view more opportunities with our partner organization, the Ann Arbor Hands-On Museum

Our Summer Camp programs are currently seeking Summer Camp Educators. More information on our camp employment webpage.

We have many wonderful opportunities for volunteers, and can accommodate individuals as well as groups.